Thursday, October 28


Latest News from WTFC Official

JW Hunt Cup 1st Round Draw

Willenhall Town are pleased to announce that we have again entered the prestigious JW Hunt Cup for the 2018/19 season.

The JW Hunt Cup Charity football competition was formed in 1926 to raise funds for the sole benefit of the local blind.

It is named in memory of John William Hunt, a local business man and benefactor, who founded the local Chillington Tool Company and was a supporter of local charities.

It has been run every season since 1926/27 season.

The inaugural winners being Short Heath United who beat Cannon Iron at Molineux, Wolverhampton in April 1927.

Willenhall first reached the final in the 1954/55 season, finishing runners up to Sankeys. We finally won the Cup in the 1970/71 season, beating Whitmore Old Boys before they gained their revenge in the 1974/75 season. This was 2 years after we were runners up to Wednesfield FC (losing 3-1).

Our most recent appearance in the final was when we beat Wolverhampton United 9-2 in the 1977/78 season.

The First Round draw this season is as follows:

Bilston Town vs Alvechurch
Bustleholme vs Rushall Olympic U21
Sporting Khalsa vs Wrens Nest Utd
Wednesfield vs FC Darlaston
Brocton vs Paget Rangers
Atherstone Town vs Prees FC
Warstones Wanderers vs Darlaston Town (1874)
Tividale vs Lye Town
AFC Wulfrunians vs Sikh Hunters
Lichfield City vs Willenhall Town
Heath Hayes vs Lane Head
Wellington Amateurs vs Wolves Sporting Community
Old Wulfrunians vs Black Country Rangers

Byes award to ,AFC Bridgnorth, Highgate Utd and Hawkins Sports.

Published by WTFC Official