Monday, May 16

Match Center

1st Team

AFC Bridgnorth


Willenhall Town

WMRL Premier Division Saturday 23 August @ 3:00 pm

Full Match Report

Bridgnorth were first to attack when Ryan Guryn saw his sixth minute free-kick in from the right cleared easily. However, two minutes later The Lockmen took the lead from their first serious attack when Matt Dorgan spread a delightful ball out wide to the right which found Tony Clift. He cut inside towards goal and fired a fierce effort high and wide of home keeper Chris Crook to open the scoring. Ryan Ward then fired over shortly after before Bridgnorth had their first effort when a 30 yarder from Glynn Coney flew over on 17 minutes. Andy Cahill then headed a dangerous cross behind for a corner which Tom Whitney headed wide. The Lockmen then saw a free-kick win a corner, but this was easily dealt with before a great run and cross on 21 minutes by Michael Clark picked out Ward, his first time effort flew just wide. Cahill then timed his tackle to perfection to deny a dangerous break on 24 minutes before Andre Calder had to concede a corner a minute later to deny another strike at goal. Calder then headed clear Coney’s flag-kick. The Blues levelled on 27 minutes when a super passing move cut through the middle of the Lockmen’s defence and the move got the finish it deserved when a fierce swerving effort from Coney flew past Ben Holden, he got a strong hand to the strike but the effort was always moving beyond his reach. Joe Noel then teed up Clark on the half hour but his effort forced only a corner, which sub Jake Morgan, on for the goal scorer Clift, headed wide. The Blues were then awarded a free-kick from 25 yards out which was rolled short and wide to Philip Hurdley, but the effort was easily caught by Ben Holden. The home side forced three corners before the break to Willenhall’s one, but there was no alarm for either side.


Dorgan opened the second-half action with a corner which was easily caught by Crook under no pressure two minutes in before Noel and skiper Paul Holden linked up well to force another flag-kick. Again Dorgan took but this time Noel fired over. Karl Griffiths was then denied a goal by a fine save from Ben Holden, who managed to claw a strong effort away from goal and behind on 50 minutes. Whitney then volleyed over the next Blues corner, won after clever attacking play from another free-kick before the troublesome Ward then saw his 55th minute effort well fielded by Crook at the second attempt. Ward was then booked for a supposed push before he was cut down from behind a couple of minutes later in a nasty challenge, no action was taken. Ward dusted himself down but fired well over. From another cynical challenge on 64 minutes, Clark was much closer to goal, his strike dipping just over the bar. Ben Holden then made another fine save on 66 minutes before the follow up from a recycled ball rattled the underside of the bar. However, it was home skiper Jason Pike who then found himself freed in the box and his deflected effort wrong-footed Ben Holden to give the home side the advantage. Ben Holden then did well to deny Guryn after he was played clear as he cut in from the right before two goals in sixty seconds floored the Lockmen. Griffiths fired home a loose ball after a right wing cross on 74 minutes before Ryan Guryn’s clipped effort beat Ben Holden. Guryn fired over on 77 minutes before the final goal arrived on 82 minutes, with Coney volleying home well after a ball across the box from a right flank free-kick found him perfectly positioned. Sub Callum Foster then set up fellow replacement Simon Laidley on 83 minutes, with his low effort forcing a great save from Crook, but no Reds player reacted quickly enough and the ball was cleared. Foster then ran at the defence again on 85 minutes but Dorgan fired at Crook and the chance was gone. The Lockmen won and took a corner short two minutes later but the effort again found Crook before ben Holden made yet another good save down low to deny Coney a hat-trick. The Lockmen finished by winning three corners in the three minutes of added time, but nothing came of the efforts.



WTFC MoM: Ben Holden.


1. Ben Holden,
2. Andre Calder,
3. Andy Cahill,
4. Kingsley Burrows-Fields,
5. Michael Clark,
6. Paul Holden (capt),
7. Joe Noel (off 79min),
8. Matt Dorgan,
9. Ryan Ward (off 68min),
10. Tony Clift (off 30min),
11. Jack Pottinger.


12. Danny Hemmings,
14. Jake Morgan (on 30min),
15. Callum Foster (on 68min),
16. Junior Ikoara,
17. Simon Laidley (on 79min).

Chris Burton – Match Secretary


Previous meetings

23 Aug 14 3:00 pm WMRL Premier AFC Bridgnorth v Willenhall Town 5 - 1
16 Sep 14 7:45 pm WMRL Premier Willenhall Town v AFC Bridgnorth 1 - 6
19 Aug 15 7:45 pm WMRL Premier Willenhall Town v AFC Bridgnorth 0 - 7
03 Oct 15 3:00 pm FA Vase AFC Bridgnorth v Willenhall Town 5 - 2
02 May 16 3:00 pm WMRL Premier AFC Bridgnorth v Willenhall Town 6 - 1
03 Sep 16 3:00 pm WMRL Premier Willenhall Town v AFC Bridgnorth 5 - 0
31 Dec 16 3:00 pm WMRL Premier AFC Bridgnorth v Willenhall Town 3 - 1
31 Jul 18 7:30 pm Friendly AFC Bridgnorth v Willenhall Town 3 - 2